The project / Le projet

My goal for this project is to explore AI techniques through diverse experiments. AI is really fascinating so in my spare time I like to try some stuff on this theme…
To do so, I bought the following items :

I first bought the AL5C robot and made some experiments on Neural Networks, but quickly realised I needed some feedback information from the arm (servos positions, video…).

That’s what the Phidgets stuff are for. I’ll make a specific post on how to modify the servos in order to get the position feedback and wire it to the Phidget card.

For the programming stuff I decided, as I’m familiar with, to use :

  • Microsoft Windows XP (well not the best choice ever but, must be compatible with newer ones)
  • Microsoft Visual Studio 2010
  • Aforge.Net and Accord.Net which are really good C# libraries to work with AI.
  • Virtual Machine to hold the whole configuration in a kind of nutshell (isolated from my everyday computer)

I first started with a nice but a little bit mathematic book : Apprentissage statistique from Deyfus. For French speaking people, there’s a good online pdf to read here : http://www.math.univ-toulouse.fr/~besse/pub/Appren_stat.pdf.

The advantage of this reading is that it allowed me to get the basics of some themes like neural network or data preprocessing.

So here is the current state of my customized robot arm :

The robot armTo better understand what the system is, here is the block diagram of my current configuration :

Block diagram of the robot arm

2 réflexions au sujet de « The project / Le projet »

Laisser un commentaire

